Join Us

The Social Justice Racial Equity Collaborative would not be possible without our many volunteers, sponsors, and partnering organizations.
Join us by investing in a socially just and racially equitable Charleston. A commitment on your behalf – both emotionally and financially- at $1 a day will ensure that we have the resources to take the next steps in our Truth Racial Healing and Transformation process that we feel is the missing piece.  With your support we will be able to advance our work, engage the community, and move the needed forward toward a just, sustainable, and thriving community where all people of all races are empowered to fulfill their human potential.
For more Information on how you can engage in this movement, please contact Demetria Casale, Coordinator of Programs and Communications, Social Justice Racial Equity Collaborative by email or phone. 843-720-8258.
Your pledge of $1 a day, $365 per year, over the next three years will benefit the lives now and for future generations to come. Donate now and become a member!

SJREC Collaborative Council and Engagement Partners


Leadership Team:

Audrey Lane

Audrey Lane

Executive Director, E3
(Educate, Empower, Elevate)
Co-Founder, E3 Management

Amanda Lawrence

Amanda Lawrence

Vice President of Community Impact at Trident United Way
Riley Fellow and alumni of Furman University’s, The Riley Institute, Diversity Leaders Initiative
Sandy Morckel

Sandy Morckel

President, Solutions for the Greater Good
Past President, Rotary Club of Charleston
Carolyn Rivers, Co-chair of SJREC

Carolyn Rivers, Co-chair of SJREC

Founder and Director of The Sophia Institute
Co-chair of Social Justice Racial Equity Collaborative
Reverend Nelson B. Rivers III

Reverend Nelson B. Rivers III

Pastor of Charity Missionary Baptist Church in the Liberty Hill Community of North Charleston, SC
Vice President of Religious Affairs and External Relations of the National Action Network
Founding member of the Charleston Area Justice Ministry (CAJM)
Nella Gray Barkley

Nella Gray Barkley

President and CEO Crystal-Barkley Corporation, Chairman BestWork, Inc.
Endowment for the Humanities,
S.C. Committee, Vice Chair
Consulting Committee, National Advisory Council on Historic Preservation
LaVanda Brown

LaVanda Brown

Executive Director, YWCA Greater Charleston
Board of Directors, Enough Pie
Global Advisory Board Community Solutions
Rhoda Green

Rhoda Green

Founder and CEO of Barbados and the Carolinas Legacy Foundation
Barbados’ Honorary Consul to South Carolina
Phyllis Martin

Phyllis Martin

Chief Executive Officer Tri-County Cradle to Career Collaborative (TCCC)
Jaye Goosby Smith

Jaye Goosby Smith

Vice President for Community Belonging and Chief Diversity Officer, Pepperdine University
Member of Mensa America and Jack and Jill of America
Tessa Updike

Tessa Updike

Archivist for The Citadel and Director of The Citadel’s Truth, Racial Healing and Transformation (TRHT) Center

Not Pictured:

Julie Hussey
Civic Communications LLC

Don Kennedy,
Charleston County School District

Honorary Co-Chairs:

Hon. Alex Sanders
Hon. John Tecklenburg

Social Justice Racial Equity Council:

Jessica Boylston, Solutions for the Greater Good
Cam Busch, The Sophia Institute
Sandra Campbell, Civic Activist
Lydia Cotton, Art Pot
Kerri Forrest, Gaylord & Dorothy Donnelly Foundation
Quinetha Frasier, Social Missions Architects
Paul Garbarini, Uniquely Charleston Tours
Shirene Hansotia Esq, ACLU of South Carolina
Wilbur Johnson, Clement Rivers, LLC
Barbara Kelley-Davis, Fashion with Confidence
Linda Ketner, KSI Leadership and Management Development
Marina Lopez, The Citadel – Oral History Program
Brittany Mathis Siewe, Nonprofit Professional
Caroline Mauldin, Happy & Bennett
Bernie Mazyck,  SC Association of Community Development Corporations
Madeleine McGee, Together SC
Rev. Kylon Middleton, Mt. Zion AME
Rodly Millett, East Cooper Medical Center Governing Board
Lee Moultrie, Lee H. Moultrie & Associates, LLC
Elizabeth Nicholson, Rosen Hagood
Ben Pogue, Ben Pogue Law Offices
Denise Relyea, Womble Bond Dickinson (US), LLC
Thetyka Robinson, The Asiko Group
Minister Vertelle Seabrook, Charity Missionary Baptist Church
Geona Shaw-Johnson, City of Charleston
Gregg Smythe
Rev. Bill Stanfield, Metanoia
Paul Stoney, YMCA of Greater Charleston
Kenda Sweet, Community Volunteer
Erica Taylor, Charleston County School District
Sandy Tecklenburg, First Lady, City of Charleston
Brenda Tindal, International African American Museum (IAAM)
Eric Watson, Charleston County Sheriff’s Office
Mike Whack, City of Charleston
Magistrate J. Seth Whipper, Charleston County Magistrate
Garcia Williams, The MEDI Community Resource Center

Special Advisors:

Melissa Maddox-Evans, Annapolis Housing Authority
Brenda Lauderback, Denny’s Corporation
Henry Smythe, Womble Bond Dickinson (US), LLP
Carolyn Sawyer, The Tom Sawyer Company

Engagement Partners:

ACLU South Carolina
Avery Research Center for African-American History and Culture
Center for Heirs’ Property Preservation
Center for Women
Charity Baptist Church
The Charity Foundation
Charleston Area Justice Ministries (CAJM)
Charleston Forum on Race
Charleston Illumination Project
Charleston Illumination Project
Charleston Legal Access
Charleston Metro Chamber
Charleston Promise Neighborhood
Charleston School of Law
City of Charleston
Civic Communications
Coastal Conservation League
E3 Educate, Empower, Elevate
Friends of the Charleston Public Library
Harbour Club at WestEdge
International African American Museum (IAAM)
League of Women Voters
Lowcountry Local First
The MEDI Community Resource Center
Mount Zion AME Church
Passages Artists Collective
Porter Gaud School
Quality Education Project
Quality of Community Life Initiative
The Race and Social Justice Initiative
SC Association of Community Development Corporations
Second Presbyterian Church
Solutions for the Greater Good
Together SC
Tri-County Cradle to Career
Trident United Way
Unity Church of Charleston
YMCA of Greater Charleston
Young Nonprofit Professionals Network of the Lowcountry
YWCA – Greater Charleston