previous arrow
next arrow

Council and Engagement Partners Who Endorse the Draft Resolution Recognizing, Denouncing and Apologizing on behalf of the City of Charleston’s Role in Regulating, Supporting and Fostering Slavery

Honorary Co-Chairs:

The Honorable John Tecklenburg
The Honorable Bernard Fielding
The Honorable Alex Sanders
The Honorable Lucille Whipper

Leadership Team:

Barbara Kelley-Duncan, Co-Chair
Carolyn Rivers, Co-Chair, The Sophia Institute
Melissa Maddox-Evans, Housing Authority City of Charleston
Darrin Goss, Coastal Community Foundation
Sandy Morckel, Solutions for the Greater Good
Rev. Nelson B. Rivers, III, Charity Baptist Church / National Action Network
Henry Smythe, Womble, Bond, Dickinson (US) LLP

Community Endorsements*:

ACLU of South Carolina
Avery Research Center for African American History and Culture
Nella Barkley
Jack Bass
Josh Bell
Jessica Boylston LaVanda Brown Adair Burroughs Cam Busch
Sandra Campbell Cannon Street YMCA
Center for Heirs Property Preservation Center for Women
Charity Baptist Church Charleston Freedom School Charleston Legal Access Circular Congregational Church Civic Communications, LLC Lisa Dabney

Problems of high social complexity cannot be peacefully solved by authorities from on high; the people involved must participate in creating and implementing solutions.

– Adam Kahane, Solving Tough Problems




3 Broad Street, Ste 400 (Offices only)
Charleston, SC 29401